A Day in the Life of a Prima Ballerina

Growing up, some of my favourite films were about dancing; Save the Last Dance, Centre Stage, Dirty Dancing Havana Nights, Honey and even You Got Served. What can I say, the early 2000s were full of dance-themed films targeting teenage girls and I was a frequent movie-goer.

Now that I’m (somewhat) grown up I’ve decided I should start enjoying cultural performances, such as the ballet, more often. Problem is it’s sometimes hard to find anyone who wants to tag along. Until I find myself a dedicated ballet-watching partner I’ll have to keep using my klout as a writer to interview the dancers themselves.

Heather Ogden in The Sleeping Beauty. Photo by Bruce Zinger.

Here is a recent Q&A I did with principal dancer at The National Ballet of Canada, Heather Ogden. What’s your favourite dance movie or live performance?

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “A Day in the Life of a Prima Ballerina

  1. heidit says:

    I LOVE ballet. If I lived near you, I’d go to the ballet with you, no problem. It’s so beautiful and amazing. Good for you for interviewing ballerinas and spotlighting dance; I’m so envious that you interviewed someone from The National Ballet of Canada.

  2. […] all my complaining I finally found a date to the ballet- make that […]

  3. […] gone to see one of the most popular ballets and have interviewed one of the most esteemed dancers in Canada, but until I wrote this piece for the February issue of The Beat I had never heard of a ballet […]

Leave a Reply

