The Tips Nail Bar Experience

I kid you not when I say I’ve been waiting to get my nails done at Tips Nail Bar all year. I first heard about owner Leanne Colley and her team of manicure heavy hitters in January while interning at a PR company. After seeing their work on the runway at LG Fashion Week, in the pages of Fashion, Flare and Elle Canada magazines, on countless Toronto beauty editors, and even more in the know ladies on Twitter, I decided that the trek to Greektown would be well worth it.

I finally got myself organized and secured a coveted appointment last Friday. Knowing I was mere hours away from treating my hands to what the beauty elite of Toronto are calling the best manicure in the city made the day go by super fast, and before I knew it I was walking up the stairs into the nail haven.

I immediately was smitten by Tips;ย  the windowsill was lined with an impressive array of magazines, the shelves were beaming with a seemingly endless amount of lacquers from O.P.I, Essie, Chanel, YSL, China Glaze and beyond, and the tunes on the radio were groovy. Soon I was greeted by my mainicurist, Melissa, and I left my nails in her very capable hands.

Tips practises what is called a dry manicure– your fingers are exempted from the usual water-soaking step. Instead cuticles are softened with oil and gel, and hands are scrubbed and lotioned with the most wonderful-smelling stuff. This prevents the nails from expanding and becoming prone to polish chipping. The worst part of the experience? Having to settle on just one lacquer colour. I decided to cheat and pick two for a moon-mani : YSL’s White Gold for the moons and Turquoise Blue for the rest of the nail.

The end result was absolutely gorgeous and I found myself flaunting my hands infront of anyone who would look all weekend long (sorry mom, dad, boyfriend and that lady in the bank line). This place really is a manicure lover’s dream, and I’m nearly contemplating a move to the Danforth just so I can be in walking distance for my next manicure fix.

844a Danforth Ave. Toronto 416-405-8477 www.tipsnailbar.ca

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “The Tips Nail Bar Experience

  1. Incredibly jealous! I’ve been dying to go for awhile. Maybe you can make your next appointment a double & we can go together ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. ddistefano says:

    Can we made a tentative date for the end of July? (I know so far away)

Leave a Reply

