(Not) Back to School

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.

For every student, the start of September means the end of the lazy, carefree days of summer and the beginning of another school year. Time to drop the sunglasses and pick up the books!

Since I was four years old it has meant it was time to put away the bicycle and ย Canada’s Wonderland season pass and get out the Barbie lunchbox and Gap jean jacket and head back to school to find out who would be my teacher for the year and which of my friends would be in my class.

As a university student, the long weekend would be the time I spent packing up my life at home and heading back to my life in London, Ontario. I would be putting the final touches on my class schedule, trying to get as many days off as possible and making sure my friends and I took the same courses. Now it’s Labour Day long weekend once again, but strange enough I find myself without a back to school shopping list, without a room full of luggages and boxes to pack up and most importantly without the eager excitement for a brand new school year.

 

I wanna go back

 

Although I’ve been done with school and living back home with my family since May, it really has not completely sunk in. In my mind, I was just on summer vacation awaiting another September when I would return to the student life I’ve loved living so much. But now I have arrived at the crucial time of year where the whole world is screaming, “BACK TO SCHOOL BACK TO SCHOOL” but just not at me. I no longer need to be looking at those flyers from Business Depot and Home Outfitters about deals on binders or dorm room necessities, and I no longer need to say goodbye to my friends and family at home before I head off to school for another year.

 

About 80% true.

 

So this is what it’s like when you’re no longer a student. September is just another month and there really isn’t much to look forward to until Christmas. No more Frosh week, no more back to school parties, no more excuses to buy cool notebooks and a cute little lunch bag. I’ve been trying to come to terms with my new reality but it will be hard.

Luckily some things this month with make my “no more back to school” blues less depressing. I’ve got some writing projects in the works, I’ll be leaving for New York soon to have my own little adventure in the city and the week later I’ll be starting my new internship. Not too shabby of a pick-me-up I must say.

I know I’m not the only one going through back to school withdrawals so if you can relate or have some words of encouragement I’d love to hear them.

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “(Not) Back to School

  1. Hey Daniela — good luck in NYC!!! What will you be doing there?
    Don’t worry, I still think of a year as September to September, and I’ve been out of university for almost 10 years (eeek!). There are few things as wonderful as treating yourself to a cute lunchbags or notebooks as an adult, let me tell you!!

    Good luck with everything.

  2. Allison says:

    Hi Daniela,

    Loved this post. I definitely felt like this during the fall of 2009, when I moved home from school. I graduated in May and spent the summer goofing around with my friends in Montreal and delaying the inevitable. Once I got back to my parents’ house, I pretty much freaked out and realized that I had no idea how to get into what I wanted to do (journalism,) much less how to find a job. I missed my friends and the fun.

    A year later, some of that sadness remains and some of it has gone away. I am working full time at a job that I love, but that is really challenging. I don’t miss school so much anymore (it’s part of my plan to return in a couple of years to grad school, so I have that to look forward to,) but I do miss the carefreeness of school. Some days, I really, really, really don’t feel like going to work. Some days, I want to go out and dance/drink my butt off with my friends. Those are the things that I still miss, not really school.

    I heard somewhere that the first couple of YEARS out of university are hard. You feel anxious and lost until you get that first job, then you feel and anxious and nervous trying to succeed in that first job. But it gets better, you make new friends and you figure it out.

    This has turned into an essay, but I just wanted to say, it takes awhile to move past missing your old life. But it does slowly get easier and new things come in to fill the void that make life fun and different.

  3. You will never learn more than you are learning as a freelance writer. You can’t be taught anything about what you’re going to learn in this job in any classroom.

    I do understand though. You’re lucky that today there are many options open to you. If you really miss school (and I mean the courses) you can take online courses. If you miss sitting in a classroom, take one course day or continuing ed. It may help you get through the withdrawal. In the meantime look for new challenges in your freelance writing life. You will be surprised how much you will learn and enjoy what you’re doing and it doesn’t hurt that you can make money doing this too.

  4. James Jackson says:

    “For every student, the start of September means the end of the lazy, carefree days of summer and the beginning of another school year.”

    Whoa, wait, what?? Did I miss something?? I’ve never had a lazy, carefree summer in my life.

Leave a Reply

