The Intern Diaries Week Four: The Grand Finale

Some wise words

For some reason I have the lyrics of this old Sinatra song in my head as I write this post.  The end of my four week stint as an editorial intern at Pinellas News in St. Petersburg, Florida has arrived. Four weeks, 21 stories, and dozens of Twitter updates later its time to go back to Canada for my last semester of J-school (more on that in a future post).

It seems like only yesterday I arrived down here, got my official press pass and started learning about this city by the bay. Four issues of the paper later, I have learned so much. There have been many high and low points, many great accomplishments and frustrating moments, exciting encounters, long hard days, and leisure time to explore.

I’m very grateful for all of the opportunities I was given at the paper (even if I was a little reluctant to learn Quark and Photoshop and get out there with that big Nikon camera). I can now say i’ve dabbled in almost every area of the newspaper business, and I’m sure if I stayed a little longer I would have been learning about the ads and circulation too. Although I’m looking forward to going home to see all my loved ones and get back to more learning at school, I’m sad to be leaving the internship, and, lets be honest, the subtropical weather.

Click here to read my articles in Pinellas News for January 29th.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “The Intern Diaries Week Four: The Grand Finale

  1. We already miss you. Life is really dull without your Ehhh?
    We worked hard to make your internship the talk of your school. We took the risk and you reaped the rewards and experience. Hard work does pay off.
    Now study hard, enjoy the arctic tundra, and dry socks again. Flips Flops are a Florida Staple.
    Take care,
    Robert M. Potter
    Editor & Publisher & Chief Bottle Washer

Leave a Reply

