Wise Words

newspaper

This evening I had my first volunteer shift in the London Free Press newsroom. As soon as I arrived I was assigned to cover the 20th anniversary celebration of the London InterCommunity Health Centre and was off to interview people at the event. I wrote the 8-inch story (which translates to about 300 words) that will appear in the Friday edition of the paper.

I then went to the launch of the GenNext United Way program at Museum London where I shadowed Free Press report Kate Dubinski who was covering the story.

Back in the newsroom, city editor Greg Van Moorsel sat down with me to edit my story. His advice was not unlike what I have been hearing from my professors over the last few months but there were a few things I have vowed the write on a post-it note and permanently stick by my laptop:

  1. CP Stylebook is your bible
  2. If you want to be a reporter you have to be a wordsmith: use your words wisely
  3. When writing sentences, think economics: dont use a 10 dollar word when a 10 cent word will suffice
Leave a Reply

